Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about LS6-cheapest way to add 100whp

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2010, 09:45 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about LS6-cheapest way to add 100whp

Actually looking at 100-130whp increase to compete with the newer CTS supercharged. I am new to the word of LS engines. I just bought a 2004 CTS V. I was looking around and I know that sometimes ported versions of the LS6 head seem to be an upgrade for the LSI. I know that there are a lot of combinations out there regarding heads an cam but I am wondering if I can take advantage of having a LS6. Obviously I know I will need headers and exhaust, I am certain I will need a hot cam, but I am wondering about the intake/throttle body, and heads specifically.

Not sure if I could just have my heads ported and better springs to match the cam or if I am better off buying some new ones. I was also wondering if someone takes the LS6 head in on trade if they sell ported versions. The other thing I am clueless about is what tuning is required later and how to manage that piece (I live in Western Michigan)

Suggestions or proven combinations that work would be appreciated. My car is a 6-speed (all of the CTS-V's were) and I believe it has a 373 rear end
Thanks
Old 06-12-2010, 09:57 AM
On The Tree

To get 100hp out of it Full exhaust/cam/cai should get the job done or close to it anyways! With all that new found power your clutch will wanna commit suicide. I like your taste in cars pics would be nice to see this beaut!! Also a tune as well with the previous mentioned items!
Old 06-12-2010, 07:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

A nice 125 shot would do the trick juuuuuuuuust fine
Old 06-13-2010, 05:19 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Full exhaust,underdrive pully,T&B,Cold air intake,tune and then go from there.
Old 06-13-2010, 05:40 AM
TECH Enthusiast

exhaust, LT's, UDP, CAI, T/B, Intake manifold, and a 228r cam.
Old 06-13-2010, 05:40 AM
TECH Enthusiast