Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can I get a little help?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 08:42 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I get a little help?

I'm new to this so please don't lash out at me for asking.

I bought a 98 z28 m6. 136k miles. It has a "bigger camshaft"(the idle is REALLY choppy) cruising rpm is 2k-2.5k, dual exhaust, bullet mufflers, and an MTI lid... Right now I'm getting really shitty gas mileage. like 8-12.
I just joined the navy and have a need to drive 4 hours at a time. Long trips.
Could someone give me some pointers on a less aggressive camshaft. Or how I might achieve better than stock MPG?

Last edited by A98Z28P; 10-25-2010 at 09:31 PM.
Old 10-26-2010, 09:05 AM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Even with a HUGE cam it should be getting better mileage than that. Is it throwing any SES lights? You might make sure the O2 sensors are good and clean the MAF sensor. Those are two of the first places that normally cause the symptoms you are seeing. Do you have any idea on how big the cam is that is currently in the car? That will give you an idea on where to go from here if you want to change the cam out.

Jon
Old 10-26-2010, 09:29 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Not sure about your mechanical knowledge but does it seem to run/idle good or does it die or stumble? Just wondering if the car has been tuned? I would think so but you never know....people spend hundreds or thousands on mechanical components and then cheap out by seeing if they can get away without tuning it or they will do a mail order tune only. Kinda reminds me of the people my dad talks about that come into his work. They will drive a $60K Denali but the gas tank is always on E when they come in and he needs to take it for a test drive