New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Non firehawk SLP...what's different?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2014, 01:43 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Non firehawk SLP...what's different?

Looking at buying a 99 Trans Am that the owner claims has factory SLP options. I see the SLP lid and a dual tips on the exhaust. I can't seem to find what was installed from SLP and what was different on these cars. I don't believe the car is a WS6 either because I don't see a ram air hood.

Any help would be appreciated! Trying to figure out what is different so I can make an educated decision. Looking to own my first LS1 this week!
Old 08-12-2014, 02:35 PM
On The Tree

Unless he is selling you a
-A NHRA Formula
-A WS6
-A Real Firehawk (you can add different options from lid, rims, suspension etc)...
-MECHAM T/A

I'm sure their are some more as I'm no expert, put the seller most likely added these parts and is b'sing you. Good Luck.
Old 08-12-2014, 02:43 PM
It's not mine! woo hoo!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

There is no such thing as a "non-SLP" Firehawk. The fact of the matter is that unless it has RPO code WU6, then it's not a real Firehawk nor did it have anything to do with SLP.

With that said, it's always possible some dealership ordered a car and then put SLP parts on (or even sent the car to SLP in NJ; OE SLP cars were converted in Canada) and labeled it as something it's not. Either way, don't over pay for something that doesn't exist outside the owners' own mind.
Old 08-12-2014, 03:00 PM
TECH Enthusiast

ask for a pic of the option tag on the drivers door...
Old 08-12-2014, 06:27 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by hardbones
ask for a pic of the option tag on the drivers door...
this. or some paperwork to back it up. rpo codes (usually lol) don't lie.
cud be guy before him threw a lid and dual/dual exhaust on it and "made" it what he wanted it to be