Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ls1 coolant level sensor?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2015, 08:47 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ls1 coolant level sensor?

Hello everyone, I'm new to the ls1tech forums and ls1's in general. I just recently bought a 99' camaro ss, 6 speed etc. car has been performing flawlessly since I've owned it (apart from the stupid skip shift and a failing alternator) but the low coolant temp light stays on all the time. Car hasn't over heated, usually runs around 205-210 degrees. And there's coolant in the radiator/reservoir. According to the dip stick its past the full line.. Is it just a bad sensor or something else? Thanks.
Old 05-15-2015, 12:51 AM
On The Tree

I'd say it's a bad sensor. I changed the sensor on my low mile car after I bought it. It sounds like it's somewhat common for these sensors to act up.
Old 05-15-2015, 01:03 AM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,800 Likes on 1,282 Posts
LS1Tech 20 Year Member

Yes, coolant level sensors are a common issue, in fact GM discontinued this item on the 2002 models. What seems to happen is that poorly maintained cooling systems (infrequently flushed coolant) develop slime/gunk that seems to cause issues with the sensor. You can just disconnect it if you don't want to buy a new one. It seems that some of the aftermarket sensors are even more likely to act up than the originals, in some cases.

As long as the radiator is full and the dipstick for the overflow bottle shows the level to be within operating range, I wouldn't worry about this at all.
Old 05-15-2015, 07:40 AM
Teching In

I have a Buick that the sensor went out on. It never lost coolant ( as long as the intake gaskets were in proper order) and never ran hot.

It's the 2nd sensor of that type to go out. Defferent vehicles, but same set up.

Square and plugs into the top of the radiator. They can be quite expensive compared to temp sensors which must be in working order.
Old 05-15-2015, 09:19 AM
TECH Enthusiast