Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Questions about Cams??

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2016, 11:15 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Questions about Cams??

Hey guys! Im pretty new to having my camaro and dont know a whole lot about the LS1 yet and would like to learn as much as I can. My car has long tube headers, an SLP lid, and I got my ECM tuned by Tunesbyfrost. Ive been looking at these Cam packages and this stall converter. I also have the LS1 from the 2001 SS camaro with the 4L60E trans. Here is what ive been looking at....

http://vengeanceracing.net/1998-2002...-kit-plus.html

http://www.tickperformance.com/tick-...r-ls2-engines/

https://www.circledspecialties.com/c...ngle-disk.aspx

This is what ive got so far. What parts do i need? what dont i need? Id like to keep it cheap as possible but i also want the best i can get. I want the loppy idle but also the performance from the cam. any help would be great! thanks
Old 01-05-2016, 03:42 PM
FormerVendor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I see three different stall converter diameter choices on the link you posted, but no rated stall speeds?

Do you have a stall speed in mind?

Here is what I always recommend to customers performing a cam swap like you're wanting to do:

8620 camshaft
.660" lift dual valve spring kit
4130 chromoly push rods
ARP cam bolts
ARP balancer bolt
GM timing cover gasket
GM timing cover seal
GM water pump gaskets
Trunion upgrade
IWIS single roller chain
Melling high pressure oil pump

I sell this as a package for 1211.10 shipped.

I'd be glad to recommend a cam for you as well.

Hope this helps!
Old 01-06-2016, 07:10 AM
Teching In

I was thinking the pro series and around a 3200-3400 stall. I don't know much about anything when it comes to the very specific things honestly.

What company are you though? I might want to take a look and see what you guys have. I'm pretty unsure what I want at this point
Old 01-06-2016, 07:13 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts