New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is the best budget/easiest to install for a noob Trans Cooler?

Old 02-20-2017, 05:30 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default What is the best budget/easiest to install for a noob Trans Cooler?

I'm going to start delivering food for an extra source of income with my TransAm WS6, and I really want to do as little harm to her as possible. I'm going to get a beater ASAP so I can stop putting city mileage on the car, but we are drowning financially and I have to do this. I'm going to change the oil, but I was also thinking I should put a Trans cooler on. In about 10 months I'm going to probably be getting a higher stall torque converter, too, so I'd already have the trans cooler on.

I'm not a master mechanic like you guys, but I've done small things to the car like the throttle body bypass and changing an alternator out. Is this much harder to install?

EDIT: I LIVE IN FLORIDA BY THE WAY, it's VERY HOT HERE during the day.

Last edited by SouthernRex; 02-20-2017 at 05:51 PM.
Old 02-21-2017, 04:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

No offense man but if things are as bad as you say they are I wouldn't do any mods to the car and save your cash. Sure a stall will be fun but the second you go modding anything above its intended specs you then add potential for it to break further down the road as is with any car. I also live in FL and you shouldn't need a trans cooler for just day to day driving on a stock stall 4l60e provided you arnt beating on it everywhere.
Old 02-21-2017, 05:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by usnfenix