New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to the Game, have a few issues....

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2017, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the Game, have a few issues....

Hello peeps,
I'm new to this game so please bear with me! I have a 1999 Camaro z28 6-speed manual transmission...I've had this car parked for about 7 years and I'm finally driving it again (money and license issues &#128517

So far I've done:
*clutch (stage 2)
*alternator
*power steering

...and that is pretty much it.

So far I am noticing a lot of electrical issues, like headlight will blink randomly, windows will roll up very slow, or will stop working randomly, and now water from radiator reservoir is leaking from cap (I just left jiffy lube and had radiator flushed)

Thank you so much in advance. Any help is appreciated!
-John
Old 03-08-2017, 02:36 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

As far as the windows are concerned it is known common issue on f bodies. Replacement window motors can be had from rockauto, make sure tos earch and read up on how to replace them.

For the coolant are you referring to the coolant overflow tank or the actual radiator itself?
Old 03-08-2017, 02:56 PM

Hi,
thank you for replying and yes "the overflow tank" which btw I thought was a resorvoir for a radiator...? But yes all my coolant is coming out from there. Sometimes when I get home after driving for a while, I'll just park, read my messages before getting out of the car and I can hear that tank bubbling with the hot water and I can see steam escaping...

what trips me out is that the water gauge on the dash does not indicate that my car is overheating...and it does work at lleast I think it does...on the gauge it will read from cold to normal temp everyday, even in traffic! Which kinda freaks me out sometimes...
Old 03-08-2017, 03:29 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts