Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question on Widebands

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2017, 03:03 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question on Widebands

So I am still new with the fuel injection performance thing. with that being said I understand that the Wideband measures the Air/Fuel ratio in each bank of the engine to see at a glance weather the car is running rich or lean.
( I think that's correct...correct me if I am wrong)

with that being said at what point is something like a Widwband setup needed? I am in the process of working on getting parts together over this winter to do some upgrades to my car such as Heads, Cam, and Intake with nitrous up next.

after the Heads cam and intake are done I will take the car somewhere to get it tuned on a dyno.

so at what point do I need to invest in a Wideband. and when that time comes what one do you all suggest to get
Old 10-12-2017, 03:50 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

Well of course it's not actually "needed" but it's a smart thing to have, and the more modded you are the more important it becomes. With that said I got one a few months ago because I wanted that extra insurance just in case something went wrong
Old 10-12-2017, 04:38 PM
Teching In

Need is the operative word here. If you have a decent tuner and plan on always paying them for your tunes you won't need one. If you ever plan on doing it yourself you absolutely do. Want is a different question...
Old 10-12-2017, 05:00 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 79 Likes on 70 Posts

You need one. Its always good to have especially with any type of power adder.
Old 10-12-2017, 05:19 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 523 Likes on 372 Posts

Most people only run 1 wide band in a central pipe so they get an overall reading. If you want to monitor each bank you'll need to run two, one in each header or pipe before any H, X, or Y pipe.