New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3 LM7 Budget Build/Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2019, 01:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 LM7 Budget Build/Rebuild

Hi, I am new to the LS world. Just bought a 200,000 mile LM7 and I am getting ready to tear down and rebuild of the motor. I am not sure what I am going to put it in when I am all done, but I am working on that. I do have a few ideas rolling around in my head.

The engine does run and did not hear any knocking before it was pulled. I will do a compression/leak down later this week, but I can already tell that compression feels good.

My question for you guys is what should be done/needs to be done on a high millage motor like this on the rebuild? I was planning on a full rebuild kit for the bottom end. But what is necessary and what should I leave alone?

As for the power, I am not looking for anything crazy. Just looking to get about 500+ HP, maybe even with a turbo. I still want it to be daily drive-able. I know that I want an upgraded cam, but what should I be looking for (remember, I want it to idle nice and be a good daily) I may be throwing it in a Trailblazer sized SUV. I want to keep this build on a budget, so I am not looking to go overboard, I just want it to be solid and get some extra power out of it.

Let me know what you guys think.
Old 01-27-2019, 05:32 AM
On The Tree

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts