Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

stock ls1 bored to 383?!

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2006, 03:06 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question stock ls1 bored to 383?!

I've been doing a little reading on this...I'm a newb so I dont quite understand everything about it...so ima ask a few ?s..

How much money would you questimate to take my stock ls1 and have it bored out to 383? (and whats this stroker buisness?)

would i still be able to use boltons on it while keeping stock tranny/suspention? (plan on upgrading suspention anyway...)

what about nitrious?

anything you can explain would be helpful! thanks!

BTW: Mods if this is the wrong thread feel free to move...im new so i figured new ls1 would be the appropriate thread..
Old 11-17-2006, 03:16 PM
TECH Resident

I would do some serious searching in the LS1/LS6 internal engines area. For starters the max you can bore a stock ls1/ls6 aluminum block is .010 over. You would need a stroker crank to achieve 383 cubic inches.
Old 11-17-2006, 08:59 PM
Launching!

Yeah you need to get a stroker crank. I'm not sure what you gotta do to LS1's to make sure when you put that crank in to make sure you got your proper clearances. But about the trans/rearend. If you have a t-56 (manual) they are good for like 800 horse so I've heard. If you have an automatic It was already on its way out before you even started modding it. Those definitly need to be beefed up when you start adding power. And our rears are more resilient than people say, Its my personal opinion that as long as you dont put slicks on them and dead hook on a prepped track they'll hang in there. Ive had 425 rwhp on my stock rear for about 25k with nitto DRs and shes holdin strong!
Old 11-19-2006, 01:45 PM
Tech Resident

Originally Posted by Pharm0r
How much money would you questimate to take my stock ls1 and have it bored out to 383? (and whats this stroker buisness?)