Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

---S2000 owner wanting to switch over. few questions plz---

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2007, 01:32 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ---S2000 owner wanting to switch over. few questions plz---

Hey all, my name is John. Im new to the vette sceen but definately not to the car modding sceen. iv spent lots of hours looking at forums and FAQ's on ls1s. I currently own a 12 second cavalier (aiming for 11s next year as its tuned on 26psi.) and a widebody s2000. Iv been thinking about it constantly for awhile now as far as selling the s2000 for a ls1 vette

heres a link to my car profile and youtube. (i know its proper to post pics/video when your new to the site)

http://www.cardomain.com/id/jhorwath86

http://youtube.com/jhor86

Now since thats out of the way. I need everyones help

I want the 97-04 due to cost and the non z06 due to cost and insurence.
cost. everyone seems to push for the 01 and newer due to all the lil problems beign fixed

HC/Fast 90/90 are all on the 1st thing list so wether its an ls1/ls6, it wont really matter. 97-01 vettes are going for <20k in my area. must be an m6 and not a vert

now onto the questions

What does everyone use for tuning? hpt and efi live seem to be the most answers. is the hypertech good?

How much did you pay for your vette? model, options

I know on fbodys the motor has to come out from the bottom due to it sitting farther back. Is this the same in the vette? it looks like it sits further up and can come out of the top like a normal car.

SAFE Limits on the ls1 internals? max rpm seems to be around 6k from what iv red. is that correct? also what kind of power can the bottom ends take? 500rwhp seems to be safe. how much before a better bottom end is needed?
iv seen a few people claim 600whp and more on stock ls1s. and iv also seen that people say anything over 500whp and it should be forged.