Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Unecessary Parts...

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 09:53 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Unecessary Parts...

I'm new to the LS1 buildup thing and have a question. With cam in hand and heads on the way what speed parts are unecessary and can be bought last if they're needed at all?

I've been told that the stock rocker arms, lifters, LS6 intake, TB, and even pushrods can be used to get me into the 11 second zone. So my question is: What parts are luxuries or are bought mainly to ensure longevity? Thanks!
Old 04-08-2008, 09:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by JosephIV
I'm new to the LS1 buildup thing and have a question. With cam in hand and heads on the way what speed parts are unecessary and can be bought last if they're needed at all?

I've been told that the stock rocker arms, lifters, LS6 intake, TB, and even pushrods can be used to get me into the 11 second zone. So my question is: What parts are luxuries or are bought mainly to ensure longevity? Thanks!
IMO I think that new rockers, lifters, springs, and rods are a must if I were doing H/C. I would definately want to feed more air into that set up so Yes udated Intake and TB are a must but do lean toward a luxury. I wouldnt half *** the set up you sound like you are going to do. More air, more power, no doubt.
Old 04-08-2008, 09:59 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I know this dosen't answer your question but you need to change your pushrods with a new cam.
Old 04-08-2008, 10:03 PM
TECH Fanatic

That depends on what cam and what heads you have and also what year/car you have. Rockers of a different ratio is like having a higher lift cam but good rollers like Yella Terra are good but not needed.

Lifters should be replaced with a new cam especially if they have alot of miles on them...Scoggin Dickey sells a set of LS7s for a little over $100 which is a great price.