Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What to replace in stock heads? Trying to eliminate "ticking sounds"

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2008, 05:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What to replace in stock heads? Trying to eliminate "ticking sounds"

I am new to internal engine stuff. I have a ticking noise that may be a lifter or pushrod, from what I have been told. I plan on getting a drivable cam later on next year, but I want to go ahead and replace whatever parts in my heads that is suggested with a new cam. This is all in hopes to get rid of my ticking noise and upgrade some internals for a cam that will come in the future. Can someoen give me a rundown of what kind, what parts, prices, etc. of what I should upgrade or replace in my heads. The car is an 00 WS6 75K miles bolt on car. Anyone have any idea of what kind of money a shop will charge to replace this stuff for me?
Old 07-13-2008, 05:25 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Cvaught
I am new to internal engine stuff. I have a ticking noise that may be a lifter or pushrod, from what I have been told. I plan on getting a drivable cam later on next year, but I want to go ahead and replace whatever parts in my heads that is suggested with a new cam. This is all in hopes to get rid of my ticking noise and upgrade some internals for a cam that will come in the future. Can someoen give me a rundown of what kind, what parts, prices, etc. of what I should upgrade or replace in my heads. The car is an 00 WS6 75K miles bolt on car. Anyone have any idea of what kind of money a shop will charge to replace this stuff for me?
ticking noise could just be piston slap, and there isnt much you can do about that. does the noise go away when it gets warm?
Old 07-13-2008, 05:29 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

nope, get a nice set of roller rockers and it really quiets everything down,or atleast it did on my car and a bunch of other fbodies around my area....