Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

347ci nitrous motor questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2009, 05:06 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 347ci nitrous motor questions

I have a cleaned and honed stock ls1 block and stock crank. I would like to do a decent set of rods and some high(er) compression n20 pistons with valve reliefs. Can someone point me in the right direction on which pistons i need to look for (style and bore) and which rods i need to look for (style and length). Also any good links to read before i go around buying the rest of the parts for this build.

Please keep in mind when replying that this is my first build, but i have been around cars for years and feel very confident that with the right direction i can pull off a successful build.

Here is some background info in order to keep you guys on the same page. I currently have an 02 ls1 and t56 in a 93 mazda rx7.

Essentially the setup is this
LT's
232/237 112lsa 600lift
stock 243's
HSW plate kit
speed density tuning
The setup makes 400whp on motor and 580whp on the bottle and is tuned by Jermey Formato who is a forum spronser and a GREAT tuner. I am pleased with this setup it has gone deep into the 10's at 135+ mph traps... I plan on running it into the 9's while i build this motor on the side.

i am unsure of what heads i will be running... i would really like to do something high compression but still able to run 93 octane, and be able to handle 750+whp on the bottle (2stage)... With valve reliefs on the pistons should i bother milling the heads, or should i just cram a huge cam with more reverse split in?

I recently purchased an OEM LS1 crank that i will be taking to the machine shop to get micro polished and possibly treated.