Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Super noob questions, new to the ls family...

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2015, 02:26 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Super noob questions, new to the ls family...

I'm an ex 5.0 Mustang guy so when I wanted to pull timing I just turned the distributor. This is my first ls style car and first time messing with a car with a computer so I have been wondering about some things-

I'm going to have the car tuned at Frost with nitrous. Looking for about a 300 shot. How do I "tune" that at the track for conditions? I'll probably be using an NOS mini controller unless I upgrade before then. Would i just use that to dial in the hit on the track? Obviously I'm fairly new to this, I have only used simple kits with lower hits and even that was quite some years ago and limited use even then.
Old 10-22-2015, 03:16 PM
FormerVendor

Pulling the timing on a LS motor is pretty simple. It can be done either though a tune, or a timing controller like the Lingenfelter LNC-2000. Personally, I like the LNC-2000 because with it, you don't necessarily have to run different tunes for motor and nitrous. The Mini is just a basic progressive controller, and will only determine your RPM window and the ramp used, and will have little effect on the overall tune of the nitrous system. If you're new to using nitrous on the LS or if it's been a while since you used nitrous, start off at a smaller shot than 300 to get a good grasp on the tuning aspects of it.
Old 10-22-2015, 03:21 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Fueling will be done by jets and tuning it in from reading plugs and AFR. For timing the best option is the Lingenfelter LNC-2000. AJ at Nitrous Outlet can hook you up with one and get you squared away on getting it dialed in.
Old 10-22-2015, 03:24 PM
TECH Apprentice