Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Which is better/safer wet or dry?

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2008, 02:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Which is better/safer wet or dry?

Hello all I just read through the nitrous FAQ and although Im more confused now than before I have a question, which is safer wet or dry? Ive seen some N2O backfires and they seem to happen on wet kits. What are the pro's and con's of the 2 systems?
Old 08-09-2008, 02:50 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no expert by any means, I have a wet system. From what I've read and heard most Nitrous backfires occur because the user doesn't have a window switch regulating when the nitrous will kick in. They just have a WOT switch. Without a window switch the nitrous comes on at WOT, which to my understanding isn't good, 3 grand seems to be the standard for activation. If the nitrous comes on at too low an rpm and the car bogs fuel will puddle in the intake causing the backfire(on a wet system).. I have my window switch set for 3 grand through 5800 rpms along with a WOT. I've never had any issues.. I don't know about dry systems... I'm sure someone with way more knowledge, than me, will chime in on this.. Like I said, I'm a relative newbie to nitrous also.. So if I am confused please don't body slam me..lol
Old 08-09-2008, 05:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Ok so with a window switch and an M6. I turn the system on and just driving around it wont spray, but when I hit 3000 RPM itll kick in as long as Im WOT till whatever its set to cut off at, then with the system cut off it dosent spray at all. So I just row gears and with the system on it just sprays and sprays.
Old 08-09-2008, 05:59 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by ZMONSTER!