Northwest Members WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, SD, ND

Some questions about Motorcycle Licensing...

Old 03-03-2008, 09:36 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Some questions about Motorcycle Licensing...

I am still a current Az resident... And was wondering about getting a license, but not having to change my current drivers license to a Washington License.

What my questions are..

I want to get a Motorcycle license, but unsure if I would need to go back to az, and do the test, would I?

I am active military, and will be taking the Navy Motorcycle course, will that sufice for the driving part? As it does here in Washington, and did in Virginia?

So what I am saying, is should I get that done, and then all I would have to do is a written test, and not have to do the driving course..

Also, if I take the Washingtons drivers test for motorcycle, just the written part. Would that be okay, and all I would have to do is submit my exam to ADOT? And then they can issue me a Az license?

Thanks guys, hopefully some of you might know what I am talking about..

Looking forward to your replys..

Lane
Old 03-03-2008, 11:22 PM
Launching!

You need a permit to take the MSF course. If you want to get an AZ endorsement, you need an AZ permit. To get a permit in almost any state you need to take the written test. Most states, including AZ, will accept a MSF completion card in place of the driver's portion of the test.

I have both the beginner's and the experienced rider's courses. I was supposed to become an instructor last year, but I had to go on det. I am going to become one this year if I am back from det in time.

Honestly, the WA license is not a bad deal. It's cheap, it never expires while you're on active duty and it now doubles as a passport for travel to Canada. You can always swap back to AZ next time you go back if the "valid til 65" rule is that precious to ya.
Old 03-03-2008, 11:30 PM
11 Second Club