Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Amateur engine bay painting

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2018, 08:59 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Amateur engine bay painting

Hey everyone so I have a 1998 cayenne red camaro Z28 and I figured why pay someone else to paint my engine bay when I can try and do it myself. Save money and learn some skills
Old 12-16-2018, 09:02 PM
Teching In

I deleted my tcs and always hated these dips they left behind so I decided to cut them out in hopes of smoothing shock towers
Old 12-16-2018, 09:29 PM
Teching In

Mind you this I’m 18 and this is my first time trying any type of body work. I made some templates out of cardboard and cut out 16 gauge sheet metal And welded the top and hammer and dollied and welded as I got the curve of the piece correct. I also welded the seam and grinded everything smooth
Old 12-16-2018, 10:09 PM
Launching!

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts

That looks great. Keep us updated.
Old 12-18-2018, 12:55 AM
Teching In

Majority of engine bay stripped down. Added skim coats of body filler and block sanded it down to try and get it somewhat smooth
Old 12-18-2018, 08:02 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 183 Likes on 145 Posts

Looks good. You have little to lose here in trying. The hard part is getting it all clean enough to not cause paint problems . . . . sand and repeat.

Rick
Old 12-20-2018, 12:15 AM
Teching In

Didnt get pics of spraying epoxy primer but here is the base coat sprayed and dried for about 8 hours
Old 12-20-2018, 12:21 AM
Teching In

Here is the clear coat sprayed and dried to touch. Not bad for about $150 worth of paint and body shop materials and a $50 harbor freight spray gun
Old 12-20-2018, 12:25 AM
Teching In

Looks nice with the motor going in!

Last edited by BayArea_z28; 12-20-2018 at 02:43 AM.
Old 01-09-2019, 04:07 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Very nice !!!
Old 01-16-2019, 08:56 PM
On The Tree

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts