PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Turbo 6.0 running, what base tune?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2017, 05:13 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Turbo 6.0 running, what base tune?

I'm new to LS tuning and just got HPTuners today. I know the basics as I have some OBD1 experience.

Can anyone suggest a tune to start with? I maybe don't understand this credit system, but I don't want to use credits on a tune that I later discover is pretty far off to begin with. Should I read this 411 PCM f body BIN and start modifying it? Should I start with something a little closer displacement wise and already setup for SD and a turbo in mind?

The combo is a stock 6.0 running a S475 turbo 1.32 A/R. 411 PCM. Trans is T56 and vehicle weight is probably around 4200 LBS or so. I'm thinking I'll probably want speed density since my goal is around 600 WHP

The two bins I'm uploading are what I've been considering as a starting point? Any thoughts or opinions? The first one is sloppys and the other one I found by searching the HPT repository.
Attached Files
File Type: hpt
1222713059.hpt (432.0 KB, 381 views)
Old 03-27-2017, 06:15 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 526 Likes on 356 Posts

do you have a pcm licensed currently?
Old 03-27-2017, 11:24 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Not yet
Old 03-28-2017, 01:15 AM
8 Second Club

Received 698 Likes on 439 Posts

You are going to have to license it one way or another.
Once you do that, you can write in another tune.
I'm not sure if you can write in an existing 2 or 3 bar tune........I've never tried that.
Sad part is, if you find a good base tune, you have to license it too.
So it's certainly cheaper to convert yours to 2/3 bar and tune away. No charge for the custom operating system.
Old 03-29-2017, 12:03 AM
TECH Enthusiast