PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who can explain how the tach signal wire works?

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2003, 11:24 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Who can explain how the tach signal wire works?

First off I'm not an electrical engineer. But I thought I'd try here since TechEdge is no help. I have their new wbo2 wideband and cannot log rpm using the tach feed wire to the pcm. I ran a wire from there to the rpm feed on my wideband. My voltmeter just shows 4.53 volts all the time, I even tried using a data Q to read it but I just get a flat line voltage with tiny spikes and certain intervals.

Harlan has managed to design a device (shift light) that can clearly see rpm from this wire. Whats the scoop on this regarding wave form etc? I'd like to forward the info to TechEdge to see what they can do. They are swamped right now with complaints similar to mine. The only ones logging RPM are using a 12 volt coil signal. I jumpered my wideband unit according to the TechEdge directions to capture a <5 volt PCM signal.
Old 08-29-2003, 04:58 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Default Re: Who can explain how the tach signal wire works?

Looks like this will be a dead thread, anyway, just in case one of the readers is interested....

The Haynes manual states to test the tachometer, you use a tool they reference and set it to 54mph (60 Hz) the tool is connected to ground and the tach lead, the tach is supposed to read 1900 rpm given this input (60 Hz).

So, I guess the tach reads frequency some how
Old 08-29-2003, 05:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I never could not use the direct rpm wire option (FJO wideband) to the pcm. I belief its a digital signal. In the dash there is a digital to analog converter just before the tach. Well at least thats what it looks like. I ended up just using the current clamp. Although should be just a matter of finding the right wire.

Gary
Old 08-29-2003, 05:37 PM