Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Window motor myths & truths

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2015, 07:57 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the pic.

It looks far more expensive to produce than the simple stamped shells we are seeing again.
Old 08-07-2015, 05:32 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

I was so close to order the dorman 742-101 from Rockauto then i took time and read whole sticky........
Old 08-07-2015, 06:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts

I am an ast manager at an Advance Auto hub store... I will check out the window motors when I go back to work on Monday

took the week off because I needed to
Old 08-08-2015, 11:04 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Kevin97ss
Purchased a set, 7/4/15 from Amazon. Same as the ones pictured by jdoyle. Will install soon.

Installed on passenger side, works about as well as the original driver side.

A few minor issues. The holes in the motor assembly needed to be enlarged to fit the supplied bolts. Once tightened down to the regulator the seam along the bottom opened up.
Old 08-10-2015, 11:55 AM
Save the manuals!

Received 322 Likes on 295 Posts

Originally Posted by Majestic9C1
I am an ast manager at an Advance Auto hub store... I will check out the window motors when I go back to work on Monday

If you ever come in to contact with a Dorman rep, it would be interesting to see if they can dig in to who the previous and current manufacturers for the part were/are.
Old 08-10-2015, 11:36 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

So.. no one knows what to get now? Was just about to order for pass. side till I saw this as well. Replaced drivers side years ago, no clue which one I got.
Old 08-15-2015, 05:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts

silly question but Im also guessing the motors are still selling for the same price huh?
Old 08-31-2015, 07:27 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Paul Bell