Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

So I got a month ...

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2014, 10:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So I got a month ...

Just picked up a 1998 T/A with 150k... registered in Arizona with no cats. I live in NorCal so that was a problem but I got it for so cheap that I could live with buying cats for it. Anyways, I got a month permit to drive the car so I can do the repairs. The thing is, i'm new to LS1 engines. I have always been a 5.4 ford guy. But I love my chicken.

Question is what kind of setup do I need to pass emissions here on cal, I have no cats and for what I can see there is a pipe welded from the headers ( stock i presume ) to the rest of the exhaust than leads to a muffler and exit tips. What kind of cats do I need?
Old 07-10-2014, 10:23 PM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

You'll need a Y-Pipe with cats and the main cat. All of these are California specific. You'll also need to make sure that all of the O2 sensors are connected and functioning.

Unless you can weld yourself, you'll have to take it to a shop and tell them that you'll need all of that. Expect to spend $500 or more.
Old 07-10-2014, 11:47 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

doesnt texas speed sell a ypipe with cats?? Check them out and now might be a good time to get some longtubes with it
Old 07-23-2014, 12:41 AM
Teching In

We are good! i called my local exhaust shop and they just "happen" to have stock cats for my T/A $350 installed! same day went to get the car smoged and passed right away. Car is now registered and ready to go. Now I can move on to fix the other issues.

Some sort of oil leak coming from under the engine. Cant see what it is because of all the gunk and crap in there so I got to get it wash. Also oil leak from the rear end. This car came with some sort of gears or so the previous owner said. Speedometer is not calibrated as it says am doing 90 when doing 75 or so.