Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Total noob question, firebird, formula, trans am

Old 01-22-2015, 11:57 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total noob question, firebird, formula, trans am

What's the difference!? I have done some searches and what I'm really after is the difference in looks. See, my car "looks" like a Trans Am but on the title it says, "Firebird Formula". I realize I have the WS6 hood and I have heard of some people swapping the Formula front bumper for a Trans Am one because it flows air better. But it seems like a lot of trouble adding the Trans Am wing so it leaves me a bit confused. I "think I know what a Formula looks like vs. a Trans Am but I'm not sure.

So this is a Trans Am-

And this is a Firebird-

Correct? And what then does the "Formula" package add?
Old 01-22-2015, 12:01 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 63 Likes on 51 Posts

firebird from 98-02 was a v6
formula is a v8
trans am is a v8

ws6 , aka the ram air hood was option on a formula and trans am . On the they all say firebird formula , if its a formula or ta .

the formula looks like a v6 firebird , but isnt as flashy .
Old 01-22-2015, 12:10 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by ramairetransam
firebird from 98-02 was a v6
formula is a v8
trans am is a v8

ws6 , aka the ram air hood was option on a formula and trans am . On the they all say firebird formula , if its a formula or ta .

the formula looks like a v6 firebird , but isnt as flashy .
Ok, on the title even if it's a Trans Am it'll still say "Firebird Formula". Strange. And there can be a WS6 Formula AND Trans Am, didn't know that. Are my pictures correct? So I do have a Trans Am then...
Old 01-22-2015, 12:11 PM
TECH Apprentice

I guess the biggest thing that threw me off about my car is the title saying "Formula".
Old 01-22-2015, 12:56 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,466 Likes on 1,057 Posts