Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Project 3ntr0py: Supercharged W68 Firebird

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2016, 12:25 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Project 3ntr0py: Supercharged W68 Firebird

Hi everyone, my name is Kevin Reed and I’m new to Ls1tech. Over the last few months I made a series of upgrades to my 2000 3.8L W68 (ground effects option) v6 Firebird. I’ve always loved the car but found the stock 200 crank horsepower (approx. 165 whp) to be a little underwhelming. Having recently graduated college, I finally had enough time and money to invest in the project. While some might argue that it still isn’t as cool or as powerful as an lsx car, it was a fun project for me and I learned a lot along the way.
I recently had the car tuned by S&M motorsports in Cleves,OH. They did a fantastic job and I’m very pleased with the results. The car made 268 WHP, which is a solid 100hp gain over than the stock 165. Without further adu, here is a list of modifications and some pics of the car (vids coming soon):

Appearance:
• VFN Fiberglass WS9 Outlaw Hood W/ Aerocatch hoodpins
• 18” RPM 505 rims and 235/45R18 Goodyear Eagle Sport tires
• WS6store F-Body C5 Brake Conversion Kit w/ drilled and slotted rotors
• Glowshift 2 gauge pod(air/fuel &boost)

Exhaust:
• Pacesetter Ceramic coated headers
• Custom 2.5” Stainless Dual Exhaust
• Vibrant Race Catylitic Converters
• Borla XR-1 Multicore Mufflers
• 4” Corsa Clone Tips

Engine:
• XP Hot Cam from ZZP/ Comp cams
• LS7 lifters
• 140# Crow Cam valve springs
• 42# Bosch "Green Giant" injectors
• zzp pushrods
• Vortech V-5 F Trim supercharger w/ 2.87" pulley making 7psi of boost
• Custom 6-rib water pump pulley
• Double sided serpentine belt
• Walbro 255 fuel pump

Last edited by xGSx3ntr0py; 01-31-2016 at 08:12 AM.
Old 01-31-2016, 01:33 PM
TECH Resident

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts