Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

What to look for when picking up car

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2016, 12:12 PM
Teching In

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What to look for when picking up car

Hey guys and gals,

I'm heading down to PA to look at and pick up (if all is well) a 2000 Trans am ws6 I won on eBay. Is there a thread already created or some things to look at/for when I get there? I'm not a mechanic but I have some basic vehicle knowledge. Thanks!
Old 05-14-2016, 04:36 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Common issues are the head light motors not working(grinding), power window motors going out our being really slow, and the sail panel (between t-tops and hatch) bubbling due to the adhesive gassing out. Look out for the rear axle leaking too. Other than that look for common general car issues.
Old 05-14-2016, 05:46 PM
Teching In

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Great thanks!
Old 05-16-2016, 07:12 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

another thing to watch for is rust, especially on the underbody.
Old 05-16-2016, 07:50 PM
Banned

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

Arguably the most value aspect of a vehicle is its "frame", i.e. the frame rails and pinch weld type of structures underside. This can be extended into suspension components such as tie rods, ball joints, control arms, sway bars, check to make sure they are not bent/abused or worn to the point of needing major maintenance.

The frame rails / pinch weld cannot be fixed (Easily/cheaply) so this is the focus of your attention, from the point of view as the vehicle as an investment (if the engine is original).