Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

1994 Formula restore NEED HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2017, 12:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1994 Formula restore NEED HELP!!

Hello everyone.

I'm currently restoring my 1994 formula LT1. I wasstationed overseas for 4 years and it sat in my parents yard in Texas. Shelooked pretty rough when I got back, so I tore into her and replaced quite abit of stuff. I'm not a mechanic, so I'm learning as I go.
I barely got it to start up when I got back, but nowshe's running, but with issues. Maybe someone on here has ran into the sameproblem and can help me out.
-The water pump leaks coolant when it warms up.
-The fans wont kick on until it gets close to overheating, but when they did (once) they sounded awful. They did bring the tempdown, but the sound made me want to kill the engine.

- I bought C6 rims for it (19 rear and 18 front) and the passenger side rearwheel rubs on top by the edge of the fender well. I took it around the block when I got her running and the tire The guy that had it before meput lowering spring on. Everything is stock except for the springs.

Just looking for some advice on these issues and possible upgrades. I appreciate the help.
Attached Thumbnails 1994 Formula restore NEED HELP!!-img_1377.jpg   1994 Formula restore NEED HELP!!-img_1374.jpg   1994 Formula restore NEED HELP!!-img_1372.jpg  
Old 06-20-2017, 12:36 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I hate to state the obvious but it sounds like you need a new water pump and engine fans.

It could just be the gasket on the water pump, but if you're going to replace the gasket you might as well change the pump, they are pretty cheap. Also, make sure you bleed the cooling system really well when you are done...and cover the Opti as well as you can to keep it dry during the job.
Old 06-20-2017, 12:48 PM
Teching In