Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Robbing parts from 2006 GTO to upgrade 2000 Trans Am

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2018, 03:13 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Robbing parts from 2006 GTO to upgrade 2000 Trans Am

Greetings everyone! I'm a new member here transplanting from a GTO forum. I had some questions and was hoping I could draw upon this group's collective wisdom.

Background: I've been an F-body driver for over 25 years now and have owned nothing but Pontiacs (well, and a Honda motorcycle). I started as a teenager with a 1983 Trans Am (with GM 350 HO 4bbl crate motor) that was totaled when a Tahoe T-boned me in early college. Put the engine and transmission in a 1982 Firebird S/E $400 junkyard find, kept that until I was done with college and had a more positive cash flow when I bought a 2001 Firebird vert. Was always dissatisfied with the V6 (some of us never totally grow up), so when kid #2 came along and I needed something with bigger back seats to accommodate two car seats I upgraded to a 2006 GTO (impulse blue/blue interior, M6). I was planning on keeping the car forever but Hurricane Michael changed my plans and dropped a pine tree on top of the roof over the driver's head. Estimated $14k-$26k to repair the damage. RIP GTO.