Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Driver's side front turn signal still broke.

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2007, 08:48 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driver's side front turn signal still broke.

So ... I went ahead and replaced the front driver's side turn signal as per the instructions detailed here:

http://www.ls2.com/forums/showthread...ht=turn+signal

This was a pretty big deal to me as I've never done anything like this before. I manged to get the totally melted old socket off and the new socket I got from the local AutoZone installed without too much difficulty. Actually, thats a lie. It was kind of a pain in the *** getting the melted socket off. But in the end, I managed to do it. I'm so proud .

Anyway, I was pretty disappointed to see that the damn light still didn't work! I tried two different bulbs, and still no joy. I know the switch works because the light indicator on the dash lights up, but doesn't blink. So I dunno what else could be the problem. Anybody have any ideas?

I'm gonna try one more thing before I throw in the towel and take her to the shop. I'm gonna try thoroughly cleaning the contacts with cleaner. I only did a couple sprays of cleaner when I installed the new socket. I'll go back in and do a more thorough job. Maybe I should also check the fuse box for a blown fuse or something too.