any cops/firefighters here? - LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

Notices

any cops/firefighters here?

Old 02-29-2012, 02:42 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Default any cops/firefighters here?

well im in the USAF (been in for 4 years) and im thinking about getting out (will have 6 years service) im thinking of being a civilian cop/fireman. how difficult is it to become one? i think its something id really enjoy. i even tried being one when i first joined but they persuaded me to become a maintainer because i scored high on the mechanical section of the asvab. im a f-16 mechanic now but i think im ready to give it up, i want some variety. military gets old sometimes. FYI my wife is military as well and SHE plans on staying in for 20+
Old 02-29-2012, 03:49 AM
math > me

I'm sworn LE for a state police department. You can PM me with any questions.

I'll be as straight up as possible.
Old 02-29-2012, 08:25 AM
math > me

I will attempt a broad approach at answering this for everyone.

LE (in a structured department) is very much like the military with a strict chain of command. The same orders rolling down hill apply.

While each day is different, each day is very much the same. Every day I get dressed, go 10-41, write some tickets, do ALL my paperwork, check on some broken down vehicles and occasionally take someone to jail. It becomes, dare I say, "routine."

While there are some pretty exciting times, don't plan a career around these. Driving with lights and sirens opens you up to a large amount of liability should you crash and kill someone. I haven't been in a fight in five years, never shot (at) anyone. The career is a HUGE responsibility and requires much dedication, even off duty.

It's a lot of kissing moms and shaking babies in an attempt to repair the poor public perception of the police.

It's not all that bad of a career.
Old 03-02-2012, 11:18 AM
TECH Junkie