Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Holley hp efi computer and obd2 inspection

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2016, 12:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Holley dominator efi computer and obd2 inspection

What do people do that are running the Holley computers in a street car than need to pass inspection? Are there provisions in the Holley for setting monitors or do you need the stock computer

Last edited by lmt0705; 03-19-2019 at 06:31 AM.
Old 01-05-2016, 12:56 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Good question
I'm a licensed state inspector in my state. I'm curious to know how this would work out w this management system. Dont take much to fail in TX.
Failure to communicate to obd2 is a problem.
Old 01-05-2016, 01:39 AM
8 Second Truck Club

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I would be willing to bet you could put the obdII port in the car and hook it to a "momentarily mounted" ecu. Then wire it up with a "bench harness" with just enough **** to keep it "happy". Have the other ends of this "bench harness" go out to the few things it needs to show a happily running car. Get the car inspected and then Go home and disconnect it all.

It would be well worth the effort in my mind if it was something that could be installed and spliced in with connectors in about an hour or two and then taken back off in and hour or two. Doing that once a year would not be that bad.
Old 01-05-2016, 06:25 AM
9 Second Club

Received 179 Likes on 154 Posts

Some of the new Haltech and Link ecu's offer OBD data and comms.

Other than that, for ecu's that dont offer it, but you need to retain comms with the OEM ecu then you'd need to piggyback the aftermarket ecu install leaving the OEM ecu in place, and if need be placing resistors etc on some loads to keep the OEM ecu happy, or else disabling any fault codes within the ecu itself.
Old 01-05-2016, 09:54 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts