Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rookie 4l60e rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2016, 11:16 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 345 Likes on 237 Posts

Default Rookie 4l60e rebuild

What's up guys? It's finally time to jump head first into my 4l60e rebuild. I am pretty confident but I'm sure things will change once I'm actually into it hands on. Hopefully this is a short thread lol but have already ran into a bump. Removed bell housing, tail shaft and pan then pulled the filter out to find a bunch of metal shavings. Looks to be a possible bushing that let loose.....?
Any help that you smart guys are willing to provide along the way will be much appreciated. I'm absolutely mechanically inclined but like the title says I'm a absolute rookie to this so stick with me lol. Thank you in advance

work area with no time table to finish

the metal shavings and where I found them

Old 03-15-2016, 11:29 AM
TECH Junkie

Old 03-15-2016, 02:58 PM
TECH Junkie

Got a ways so far

Old 03-15-2016, 04:40 PM
TECH Junkie

Welp, figured out where all the metal was coming from.
Forward sprag assembly is burnt and has heat marks all over it. 3-4 clutch pack is done but the forward clutch pack is absolutely dismantled and the forward sprag cage was twisted. What would cause the forward clutches to take such a beating but the 3-4 just looks like a toast clutch pack?
forward clutches and steels
That thin metal in the input drum are strips from the clutches

the picture below is a forward clutch and the forward steels have massive grooves in them

Last edited by 98CayenneT/A; 03-15-2016 at 08:28 PM.
Old 03-15-2016, 05:41 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

check the forward piston for any cracks or rips in the seals
Old 03-15-2016, 09:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts

Your showing pictures of the 2 Overrun Clutches that sit below the Forward Clutches.