Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Nova 1.0 Turbo Budget Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2018, 06:43 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Nova 1.0 Turbo Budget Build

I'm trying my luck at putting a turbo on this old dog I picked up about 6 months ago. I'm pretty new to the boost game, so any help would be appreciated!

I'm putting this on a small block 350 with th350 Trans. Patient is a 1974 Chevy Nova. I picked up a eBay turbo kit from a guy about an hour from me. Traded him a tool box for the kit.

Started with pulling my existing headers off and mocking up the turbo headers. Already we have problems!! Now I need to decide, do I give up on these shenanigans or do I continue my way down money pit lane.

Issues I had on drivers side was headers would not clear the steering gear box, not even close! And on the passenger side the downpipe hit the starter, which could have easily been fixed, but also had clearance issues with valve covers. Also would have had to move the alternator to be able to mount the turbo. So... more work than I wanted to deal with.

So stupid me, I chose to pass go and head directly to money pit lane, lol.

My thoughts are, I will surely end up blowing the 350 to pieces, then that will give me a good reason to LS swap this old dog.

So I ended up ordering some forward facing headers, which are great quality and will do exactly what I need!

I got those installed this weekend, and also removed my inner fenders to gain some more clearance for my hot side.

The intercooler that came with the kit is a little on the big side, and will probably require cutting up the front bumper to get it to fit. I really don't want to do that though! Does anyone have an idea on a semi cheap intercooler that will fit better between the bumper and radiator support?

This is how the car looked when I purchased it this summer. And how it looks currently.