Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Holley - flat spot

Old 05-17-2018, 11:48 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Holley - flat spot

I recently bought this truck as it is. It does not *quite run right. My main issue is that it has a "flat spot". When you are rolling and go from 1/8th to 1/4 throttle it sputters and bogs. I have to lift up off the throttle to get it to recover. If I *ease it from 1/8 to 1/4 its drive-able, but I want this to run right.

I'm new to LS engines, MSD boxes, Holley, AFR, data logging etc. but I'm willing to learn to get this thing running right.
The rig:
1976 GMC K15 (4x4) Suburban
Carb: Brand new Holley 670 Street Avenger
Engine: 2004 Trailblazer SS full aluminum 6.0 (LS2)Cam: BTR TRUCK STAGE II CAM (Brian Tooley Racing)264 (int) 269 (exh) Duration @.050 212(int) 218 (exh)Lobe Separation 113.0 -- lift: .552 .552
IGNITION: MSD Ignition Control Units 6014
FUEL PUMP: Carter 4594 - 5-9 PSI
Fancy headers with a 02 bung (where I will install the AFR sensor)

I have purchased:
Holley Jet Kit.
Holley Accelerator Pump tuning kit 36-184
Wide Band AFR gauge/kit (not on yet)

Can you guys help me understand the process of systematically sorting through this issue?

I don't know what my timing is set at (or even how to find out. Is the MSD pill enough or do I need a Timing light to verify?)
Next I will install the AFR.

Thanks!
Nick

Last edited by swissarmychainsaw; 05-17-2018 at 11:53 AM.
Old 05-17-2018, 03:17 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 474 Likes on 354 Posts

I haven't used the MSD but in the description it says it comes with 6 preprogrammed timing curves. I would do a little digging to see what one to use for a your engine. If it's stock they will likely have one that's pretty close.