Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Conditioning Hose Replacement Advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2019, 10:18 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Conditioning Hose Replacement Advice

Guys, I have rebuild many motors, transmissions, and even setup a few rear ends in my time--but I have no experience with air conditioning.
I recently rebuilt my 2001 Camaro SS, which went well, thanks in part to advice from all of you.
Going back together, I let my low-pressure AC line sing up against my water pump pulley, and 5000 miles later it has sawed a hole in the line... a little oil has leaked out, and of course, no AC.

Watching online videos I understand that I will need to buy a vacuum unit and some gauges.
I have already bought AC Pro's recharging kit (when I thought it might just be low on Freon after 18 years).
The AC worked great until I messed this up.
  • Can I just replace the hose, vacuum it, and charge it with Freon?
  • What would you recommend as minimal steps as I have to be here anyway?
  • What brand of vacuum unit and gauges are you all having good luck with?
  • What about that oil? Is that a deal? Do I need to add some? Where?
Thanks in advance.
Old 03-19-2019, 06:02 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 523 Likes on 372 Posts

Your car calls for 1.5 lbs r134a, two 12 oz cans is exactly 1.5 lbs.

Buy two 12 oz cans of straight 134, no additives and NO oil. If you buy some with oil you'll over charge the system with oil and it won't cool well. If you get the kind with dye in it there will also be some oil in there. If you want dye add a tiny amount or add dye to the oil and put that in the system. I wouldn't add more than 2 oz's total of oil or dye or a mix of the two. .5 oz of dye total should be more than enough for the entire system.