Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

newbie engine bay cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2019, 06:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie engine bay cleaning

I just read over several threads talking about cleaning the engine bay and have heard some horror stories. I will be cleaning my engine bay for the first time. The engine bay is very dirty. Literally can see dirt sitting in places I cannot reach my hand.

Since this is my first time doing this what is the safest cleaner to use to minimize any damage? I do not want to use purple power or simple green due to reports of it corroding the aluminum. Are the rumors I am reading about gunk true that can take off paint?

I plan to use a towel to not let water get to the knock sensors and put a bag over the alternator.

TIA

01 trans am

Last edited by Ricky5; 05-19-2019 at 06:53 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 05-20-2019, 09:01 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Water and elbow grease....... Gunk will take paint off (engine brite or whatever it's called) and the other cleaners will also turn your hoses white if you let it sit on there long enough. Low PSI water and motivation.... All you will need. Then keep it clean after that

Side note..... I like to use the white can of No Touch tire shine (foamy one) to give the bay a nice shine when I am done. Not too greasy and shine is awesome.

Take your time and have fun!!!!
Old 05-20-2019, 01:31 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,484 Likes on 1,068 Posts

I have used Simple Green several times in the past with no issues. You can dilute it or apply it to an already wet engine bay if you are concerned about it being too concentrated. But, personally, I've never had it corrode aluminum to any noticeable degree in an engine bay that was already neglected enough to have a ton of dirt and grime built up in the first place.