Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

flashers stoped working

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2009, 04:44 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default flashers stoped working

went out in my 01 t/a the other day was the first trip i had done in it since buying it and fitting the gearbox went up the road everything working had to pull over as i forgot to do one wheel up lol wondered what he noise was
so put the flaser on and pulled over and put the hazzards on
got back in the car turned the hazzards off and now i dont have any flashers
i pulled the relays down to day and dont have any power going to the flasher relay so for now i have just powered it up so i can use the car

now what i am thinking it is is the hazzard switch as i am a mechanic and have seen it on other cars but they have been easy to test

were the t/a have to take the steering wheel off to get to anything (i think)

so want to know were does the power go after the fuse as thats ok and have power there

as i want to sort it quick as i have just run a live off the hazzards at the min so i can use the car to get about
Old 09-10-2009, 08:00 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 259 Likes on 223 Posts

Wow...that was the Queen's English?

If you have checked and found that there is no power at the turn signal flasher (what you called a "relay") then your problem isn't with the switch. The circuit runs power through the flasher first and then on to the switch.

There is nothing between the fuse and the flasher except wire so I suspect that your Turn Signal/Backup fuse is blown. Never trust a visual inspection of a fuse because it can be blown and still look fine. Always use a tester or replace with a known good fuse. If it isn't the fuse then you have a break in the wire someplace between the fuse and the flasher.