Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

buy a new headlight switch??

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 05:52 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buy a new headlight switch??

i've been fighting with my headlights for about 2 years. my last option (before completing re-wiring them to an additional swithc) is to replace the headlight switch module.

does anybody know if anyone sells a new one? i found several used ones on ebay, but i don't want the same problem to keep happening.

for those that care; the problem:

driver's side light is f'd up! sometimes it won't go up....sometimes it won't go down. i've put in a new headlight motor, which was ok for a while, then it started again. i had a buddy help me trace the problem (to our best knowledge) to the wire harness at the switch. At the time, it wouldn't go down. when we tried, we found no power going to the "down" wire. That wire was a little loose, so we glued it in place.
That worked for a couple monts, then it started again. I took the dash apart again, re-glued it, but it didn't fix it.
Now, it won't go up all the time. Sometimes it goes up, but no down...sometimes it doesn't go up, but then down...etc, etc, etc....

it's driving me crazy!!! my wife needs to use it (because i need to drive the truck for some work coming up) but i don't want her to have to get out and manually crank them up/down or possibly get a ticket.

i don't know if the switch could be the problem, but it's the only thing that hasn't been replaced yet!
Old 09-20-2010, 07:16 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Autozone. It's not the entire assembly (dimmer, etc), just the headlight switch.
Old 09-21-2010, 07:25 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 260 Likes on 224 Posts