Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Another turn signal issue...

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2013, 05:27 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Another turn signal issue...

Like most people, I've been having issues with my front turn signals in my 99 TA. I noticed there are two filaments in each bulb. With the headlights off, both turn signals work however on the passenger side the "headlight on" filament is being used.... With the headlights on, the passenger side does not blink and the "headlights off" filament is lite up. The rear turn signals light up as they should. I'm not very good with electronics so I haven't been successful in diagnosing the issue, just noticing trends....
Old 07-31-2013, 07:05 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 260 Likes on 224 Posts

Has the right socket been replaced? It could be wired incorrectly.
Old 07-31-2013, 07:27 AM
TECH Fanatic

yes I rewired it just before this issue happened....... I was thinking the same thing but I wired it exactly the same way as the old one. Not sure how to fix it, I don't really want to randomly hook stuff up either.
Old 07-31-2013, 07:35 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

The symptoms sound like you have the two power wires reversed. Try switching the wires connected to the dark blue (bright filament for turn signal and DRL) and the brown wires (dim filament for parking lights). It is also possible you have a bad ground causing the two filaments to try to ground through each other.

If you have wire nuts, they are a convenient way to make connections for testing purposes that can be easily undone so that you don't end up crimping or soldering and then cutting. If you don't have wire nuts, just use the old twist and tape method until you're sure that everything works and then make a more permanent connection.
Old 07-31-2013, 07:54 AM
TECH Fanatic