Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Opinions for lowering car

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2009, 11:04 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Opinions for lowering car

Alright.. basically I wanna know what I would need to kill the wheel space for 18inch wheels. I plan on getting AR rebels this summer and wanna lower the car to kill the wheel space but not kill me in the process by having the tire bump up or being to low. I figure a inch or inch 1/2 would be good, if you guys think thats what is normal? Also should I get shocks with springs and if so what would you guys recommend. Im looking to go to a cheap route on this one since its just lowering the car, id like it to be as comfortable as it is now in stock suspension and all if possible. What springs/shocks would you guys recommend and what would be the cheapest. Im a complete newbie when it comes to suspension or lowering cars so don't be afraid to treat me like a dumbass when talking aha. Thanks
Old 02-14-2009, 11:17 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Strano Springs & Koni Shocks seem to be the favorite setups around here. Ill be doing the same when i get the money. I really dont know anymore then you do about springs/shocks
Old 02-14-2009, 11:32 PM
TECH Regular

well basically its just not gonna be as comfortable as stock all the time as you will be reducing suspension travel and more than likely will be adding stiffer springs, the cheap route really will never get you anywhere the right way, ive owned a lowered car before and i didn like it for a DD but it was great for handling. also you will be changing driveline angles by lowering it which isn a big deal really until you start pouring more and more power out of it, you may have some driveline vibrations i cant tell you to what degree for sure i havent lowered an f-body yet it was a stang i had previously, just some thoughts to consider
Old 02-14-2009, 11:57 PM
12 Second Club