Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Sway bar questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 07:17 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Sway bar questions

Like everyone else, I'm on a fairly tight budget these days, but trying to buck up the suspension some. Car is an 02 SS. It will see MAYBE a few days at the dragstrip in the course of a year, and possibly 10-12 sessions on the road course, and periodically driven on the street 5-6K miles a year.

I've got plans for new bilsteins, and using the stock springs with the heater hose mod in the rear.

With my limited use I'm wondering if I should just get new bushings for the sway bars vs the cost of upgraded ones?

I have some NT01's for the rc days, and I've upgraded the brake pads.

I've been doing the track day thing for the past 8 years with more car (sold), but trying to keep things on the cheap while still beating the mustangs. Ideas?
Old 08-25-2010, 11:23 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sam Strano's hollow 35mm fronts and 22mm rears are probably right up your alley. He's won numerous road titles with them and they are lighter than comparable due to being hollow which will help drop weight off the car for the drag strip.

He's also a sponsor and it is always good to keep our sponsors in business.
Old 08-26-2010, 11:37 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 130 Likes on 84 Posts

http://www.stranoparts.com/partdetai...=126&ModelID=7

Lots of options, and beyond mine I also carry UMI's solid bars, and Hotchkis bars too, plus Hellwig bars so you have options. I built my bars to be what I wanted, and what I felt worked best, and the specs and all that were derived from what I was using on my car. And I now use my bars on my car since they are exactly what I wanted without mixing, matching, or settling.

18 SCCA National Championships in house, many more for our customers prove we know our stuff.Talk is cheap, results matter.