Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

What's the BEST alignment machine out there?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2018, 06:13 PM
cam
TECH Junkie

Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts

Default What's the BEST alignment machine out there?

The last two alignments I have had are not ideal. Both have issues with caster because they pull to the right and its driving me nuts so I want to figure out what the TOP machine/s on the market are and find a new shop to work with on alignments. I feel a little bad because Ive been using the same place for 20+ years but the clown running the old gear in there just doesnt get it so Im looking for greener pastures.
Old 11-03-2018, 07:37 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

You can learn to do it yourself with jack's and strings or toe plates and a camber/caster gauge if you really want to dial it in. Plenty of how to's online, I've been doing mine for years and times I've had it checked it was always in spec and better than they will do. Takes time the first few but after you get the hang of it you can do it quicker than dropping it off and picking it up.
Old 11-03-2018, 11:00 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

IMHO, as long as the alignment machine is in calibration, the brand or age of it doesn't matter. It's the skill, and even more importantly, the amount of patience, that the person doing the alignment has, that's what makes or breaks a good/proper alignment.