Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Wheel hop theory... what do you think?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2005, 01:25 PM
11Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Wheel hop theory... what do you think?

In my readings about wheel hop, I've noticed that there are some variations in peoples' stories. Specifically, the part that solved their problem (LCA's, shocks, poly tranny mounts, etc.) and the situations in which they experienced wheel hop varied (high traction and low traction situations). After a great deal of thought, I've come up with a conceptual theory about this, and I'd like to hear what you experts think about it (since I'm a total newbie and may be just talking out of my ***).

It would seem that there are three links in the system of getting the energy from the wheels to the car. First, the tires must keep traction and hook up to the cement in order to transfer the energy to the axle. Second, the suspension must be strong enough and stiff enough to transfer the energy from the axle to the chasis. Finally, the energy transfered through the suspension must be great enough to overpower the inertia of the car.

First, let's consider the individuals who do not experience wheel hop even in a high-traction situation. In the first link (tire traction), they have a great deal of capability to transfer energy. Therefore, the suspension (mainly the LCAs) has to be able to transfer that large amount of energy to the chasis. As the axle tries to move forward, the LCAs push down on the axle and remain firm enough to transfer all the energy to the chasis, which then moves the car.