Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

steel brake line install? (yes i searched)

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2007, 03:40 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default steel brake line install? (yes i searched)

I have never done it before. I just got my steel brake lines from Earl's. I searched and could not find a write up. Also, it would help if it includes properly bleeding the brakes as well.
Old 10-22-2007, 04:15 PM
TECH Junkie

The Haynes manual has brakeline replacement in it.
Old 10-22-2007, 10:31 PM
Launching!

Thanks, however i would prefer a free online write up if possible
Old 10-22-2007, 10:42 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

It's pretty straight forward install, take old line off, put new line on, and don't let the master go dry. Make sure you put the bleeder valve up if you take the calipers off and buy four new bleeder valves because you will most likely f one up.
To bleed, pump brakes, hold, open a bleeder valve until air is removed, close valve, release brake, start over again. Start at the rear right, rear left, front right, front left.
Old 10-23-2007, 02:00 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

easier with a mityvac.bleed it by yourself.done.
Old 10-23-2007, 10:44 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by _JB_
It's pretty straight forward install, take old line off, put new line on, and don't let the master go dry. Make sure you put the bleeder valve up if you take the calipers off and buy four new bleeder valves because you will most likely f one up.
To bleed, pump brakes, hold, open a bleeder valve until air is removed, close valve, release brake, start over again. Start at the rear right, rear left, front right, front left.
Exactly. start at the furthest caliper away from the master.
I had my lines installed professionally because I've never bled brakes before. My bleeder screw on my driver side front caliper seized up and broke off. I had to buy a whole new caliper because of it. Sucked.