Anyone an electrician by trade? Power question

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2009, 01:03 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Anyone an electrician by trade? Power question

I recently got my newest electric bill from TXU and Centerpoint is the provider. My usage went from almost 2000Kwh to 4500Kwh from the last billing cycle, in that time period, my air conditioner was broken for a week, and was not running. Im just curious if it is possible that the a/c repair man funked something up that made my meter go off of the charts.

I did my own experiment this morning after the power company came for a re read of my meter and basically told me im fu%ked and have to pay it because the numbers are correct. I went through and unplugged everything in the house excet for the essentials, and turned off the a/c.......with that my meter "disc" made approx 1.2 rpm.

I then left the nessecary things plugged in and turned on my a/c unit and the SOB looked like a record player, making approx 12 rpm, im pretty sure smoke was rolling off of the bastard.

Any ideas or is this just normal and i have just not noticed.

NOTE: they replace my meter about 4 months ago, but this spike is literally amazing on my bill it went from 220 to 460 in a month.

any help is appreciated
Old 08-11-2009, 01:11 PM
RCC
On The Tree

I would check your electric bills from this time last year, they can really ssurprise you sometimes.
Old 08-11-2009, 02:42 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

try turning the power off at the breaker box and see if the meter turns. 12 rpm is slow. I've seen them spin so fast you couldn't tell where the black dot was.
Old 08-11-2009, 06:49 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by 1FAST02FORMULAHAWK