Recommended A/C shops in DFW or HELP me fix my system!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2012, 05:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Recommended A/C shops in DFW or HELP me fix my system!!!!

Looking for good air conditioning shop on dfw. My system was opened up and went dry. I tried to rent the vacuum from autozone w the hoses. Pulled a vac and put Freon in but I am pretty sure I needs to be flushed.and cleaned out and then refilled. I was thinking of taking it too Christian brothers in roanoke tx or classic chevy and having then fix it. i am no ax expert but this **** just isn't cold enough. anyone give me some good shops that will be reasonable price in dfw preferable the Roanoke grapevine area.

Last edited by FasTimeSS; 06-24-2012 at 06:56 PM.
Old 06-24-2012, 06:12 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You need to pull a vacuum for about an hour to properly boil off all the accumulated water in the system.
Also you will need a new receiver/drier and likely an orifice tube if the system was open long enough to leak it all out.
Old 06-24-2012, 06:42 PM
TECH Enthusiast

OK I will rent the vacuum pump and line again. How much vacuum should I pull? I pulled the vacuum for about an hour yesterday and the vacuum only got to about 12 or 13. I will replace the orfice tube and install a new drier. How do I go about removing all the freon that I installed yesterday? Do I need to clean the system out? I put in some more of the medium veloscity Pag oil 100 just because some leaked out when the system was open. Can you have to much pag oil in there. Right know I think I might have to much freon in it. I will go about rerenting all this tomorrow and workin on it then.
Old 06-24-2012, 06:55 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Here is the drier unit I plan to purchase.
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...2620&ppt=C1951

Orfice tube
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...2728&ppt=C0328

and the Gasket and O-Ring kit