Good shop to learn at? (San Antonio)

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2016, 09:56 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good shop to learn at? (San Antonio)

I've always been fascinated with working on and fixing cars ever since watching and helping my uncle who is a master Mercedes mechanic back in Germany, but while I'm good at fixing and diagnostics, I haven't had a chance to really fabricate and work on any cool builds. It's ironic because I've got one project and I want to start another (which will actually help me progress with the first one). I'd hoped after several years of living here, I'd meet some other car folks my age to get together with and learn and just tinker and build, but it seems my age-group (25) is more interested in the Asian-import scene. Nothing wrong with that, just not my cup of tea, and they aren't exactly doing motor swaps.

I've got some welding experience, but would like to practice more. I've volunteered at a few shops on the past here (for no pay, of course) and often found myself just fixing and replacing parts on customer cars (guess you can't beat free labor) with scattered focus on builds that have been sitting for 3-4+ years.

So, while perhaps I'm not looking to get back into that again, it would be nice to be able to help someone out with a build on the north side of town. May be a bridge too far, but certainly doesn't hurt to ask!
Old 12-15-2016, 12:18 PM
8 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Go to the race track where real men hang out. HMP, LMP, RP etc. walk through the pits and strike up a convo. If you have a way with words and don't come off like a creeper someone might let you hang around and give a hand
Old 12-16-2016, 01:56 PM
Teching In

Ah damn, I'll need to work on my mouth breathing and standing creepily over the shoulders of others while staring blankly at whatever they're doing.

Heading to a track sounds fun; haven't been to one in a while.
Old 12-16-2016, 02:30 PM
8 Second Club