Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Dream mechanic glove recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2017, 05:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dream mechanic glove recommendations

If the sky was the limit, budget-wise, what mechanic gloves would you choose for yourself?

I am trying to buy some gloves for my muscle-car-building-enthusiast guy for Christmas. I know he at one time drooled over some canadian-made awesome gloves with a pun-like name but I can't seem to find the company.

any help would be appreciated. thanks!
Old 11-28-2017, 05:54 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 523 Likes on 372 Posts

I've been a mechanic by trade for 20 years and there really isn't "a glove". I have 3 different styles for different things.

Generally the mechanix brand gloves will be easiest to search for/buy. I would get him a pair of the impact style, and also a thinner style. My current favorite i'm using is a pair of gloves from home depot that are 2 for $12 called firm grip. They are a cloth type material with a rubberish texture on the bottom and rubberish material over the knuckles, but not padded and thick. Also NOT the super thick rubber bottom style for sealing out liquids. Those feel cheesy but have their uses but mechanics don't use them much, they are good for gripping oil filters though

Also a box of mechanics latex gloves would be good to add, they are great for working with fluids.

I would get one of each type for him to cover all bases, especially since budget isn't the issue.

impact style/padded
Amazon Amazon

standard (less bulk and restrictive)
Amazon Amazon

nitrile (similar to latex) style. Mechanics use nitrile
Amazon Amazon

The THICK rubber coated ones I mentioned that we rarely use but do have uses
Amazon Amazon
Old 11-28-2017, 05:58 PM
TECH Veteran