Western Members CA, AZ, NV, UT, CO, NM, HI

Smog recertification, auto to manual swap?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2012, 08:50 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Smog recertification, auto to manual swap?

Has anyone in California had their vehicle re-certified after they did a modification to the engine or an engine swap into another vehicle? I am curious what sort of tests they do and how much work/cost this takes.

I swapped a T56 6-speed into my '01 Silverado which had a 4L60E in it. I'm no expert, but I suspect that this thing would not pass smog during the "visual" inspection because of this. Not to mention I had to turn off a half dozen codes in the PCM.

Anyone done the auto to manual swap in CA?
Old 06-05-2012, 10:23 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Ferocity02
Has anyone in California had their vehicle re-certified after they did a modification to the engine or an engine swap into another vehicle? I am curious what sort of tests they do and how much work/cost this takes.

I swapped a T56 6-speed into my '01 Silverado which had a 4L60E in it. I'm no expert, but I suspect that this thing would not pass smog during the "visual" inspection because of this. Not to mention I had to turn off a half dozen codes in the PCM.

Anyone done the auto to manual swap in CA?
They could care less about the transmission. Just take it in and dont even say anything. The tech will probably just assume its a 5 speed. As far as the PCM and engine mods, as long as all of the readiness monitors are good in the computer and the visuals are there (cat, EGR, AIR, etc), you'll pass no problem if it blows the numbers out the tailpipe.
Old 06-05-2012, 11:40 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts