Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2008, 10:33 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help!!!

Ok here is my problem, i have a 94 z28, when i have the car in drive it shifts ok and drives fine. If i down shif myself into third it doesnt really feel like it engages for about five seconds and if i try to put it into second it basically never feels like it engages. Now about two weeks ago the tranny would catch really good and when i shifted down myself it would catch and rev up a few thousand rpm's and slow the car down, sorry i dont know much about this and im a newb to transmission problems.Now my question is this, is it time for a rebuild? or is there something else that is wrong that would be cheaper. I just had the fluid changed last week.
Old 07-14-2008, 10:56 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 78 Likes on 56 Posts

Of course always check fluid level and condition first but My first thought is a cracked overun clutch piston which would require a tear down of the trans If its high mileage then I would say rebuild or replace

Call 888-744-6542

Old 07-14-2008, 10:59 AM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You symptoms certainly point to an internal pressure loss. Unfortunately I would have to say that it is indeed time to look at a rebuild or replacement unit.

If you would like to explore some options feel free to give me a call.

g
Old 07-14-2008, 12:05 PM
TECH Resident

dang i was hoping that wasn't the case, ok so my next problem is im not really financially able to do a rebuild at this moment. Will i be ok for possibly a month or two if i really take it easy on the car cause its my daily driver and my only car to drive. Thanks for the info guys. Im actually looking to do a manual swap and hoping that this thing will hold up for a few months.
Old 07-14-2008, 12:17 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 78 Likes on 56 Posts