Chevrolet Camaro 1967-2002 The forum for diehard Camaro fans

Ls1 to ls3 swap 2002 camaro ss

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2015, 02:41 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ls1 to ls3 swap 2002 camaro ss

Hello ls1tech and fellow fbody owners, I'm fairly new to threading and stuff, I am reaching out to anybody that can help me with me ls3 swap in to my 02 CAMARO SS.
To start off, engine is a 2014 ls3 out of a Camaro that was badly sideswiped les then 16k miles. I bought it complete drop out for my 02. I know it was going to be a journey and a handful of head aches but I'm alive and 95% complete. The other 5% is my wiring issues.

I did not go with the Lingenfelter box due to bad reviews so I had the crank taken out and do the 24x reluctor swap on by a machine shop, and had installed a eps cam 3 bolt 1x sprocket to accommodate the 02 harness and computer. Now to start I have with my main issues. It starts once you give it has and maintain it when you let it idle it dies, also bogs and backfires a lot. I put on the stock ls1 MAP sensor on still the same tried a couple, same result. I am not getting a rpm number, reading,etc on my cluster, second I am not getting oil pressure either. 02 harness is a 1 wire for the oil sensor, I put the1 wire OPSU I got from autozone onto the piece on the side of the oilpan I drilled and tapped it because I couldn't find a short 1 wire 16m sensor. Is the 1 wire sensor need a ground somewhere?

And the ls3 was a 3 wire.
So I had no choice, so what could be the problem to that?

(I was thinking of using the ls3 OPSU but I need a 5v wire and a ground for it to work is that possible?

What can cause no RPMs?
I kept the stock ls3 cam position sensor and flipped the wires a to c and c to a, ran a bit better but still no RPMs can anyone help me? Or lead me to better ways?

Thank you guys in advanced.
Old 07-26-2015, 07:14 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts